A Ryan Carpenter Production

Good Times in Central America





At the end of 2001, I lost my job. Rather than become despondent, I put all of my worldly possessions into storage and headed out to Central America for four months to travel and learn Spanish. A few years later, Amanda and I went to Panama to see an annular eclipse. This is our story.

  Title Date
1. The Arrival Mon Apr 15, 2002
2. School, Banks, & Parades Mon Apr 22, 2002
3. Movies, Lisa Lopez, & Soccer Games Mon Apr 29, 2002
4. Dias de Fiesta Sat May 4, 2002
5. Culture (NOT!) and Diving Sat May 11, 2002
6. Horse Drive & Car Washes Sat May 18, 2002
7. The Ruins, the Theft, and 'Daily' Buses Sun May 26, 2002
8. First Impressions Sat Jun 1, 2002
9. Volcan Pacaya Sun Jun 9, 2002
10. Cemetaries & Corpus Criti Fri Jun 14, 2002
11. Problems Times Ten Tue Jun 18, 2002
12. Tikal, Caves, & Water Adventures Sat Jun 22, 2002
13. Guatemala City, Taco Bell, & Pictures Sat Jun 29, 2002
14. Toilet Situations and Market Day Sat Jul 6, 2002
15. Field Trips & Birthday Adventures Sat Jul 13, 2002
16. The Pope, Churches, and Trips Gone Arwy Fri Jul 19, 2002
17. Chichicastenango, Lago de Atitlán Wed Jul 24, 2002
18. San Jose and Monteverde Tue Jul 30, 2002
19. Earthquakes & Scuba diving Sun Aug 4, 2002
20. Picaso & Universal Studios Sat Aug 10, 2002
57. To Panama! Sun April 24, 2005
58. Our first full day in Panama Tue May 10, 2005
59. To Colón and back on the Panama Railroad Mon May 30, 2005